PCB (and drawing) tool chain

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Troubleshooting – MPCNC PCB (and drawing) tool chain

This topic contains 7 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of John John 1 year, 1 month ago.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of John
    John
    Participant

Hi,

I’m pretty new to this still… I’ve got a handle on 3d printing and the tool chain involved to go from design to a print.

I do need help with a tool chain for PCB milling or for just drawing pictures (like a plotter). I’m probably missing something easy, but I don’t see intuitively how to get from a circuit in Fritzing or Eagle to something Repetier Host (if I need to use that even) can mill out for me.

Anyone have suggestions?

thanks.

Profile photo of Ryan
    Ryan
    Keymaster

If you can output a DXF or DWG estcam picks that up no problem.

Profile photo of John
    John
    Participant

I can save it as an SVG, though the lines are thin in Estlcam and I don’t see how to make it cut around them so they have depth… see the attachment. the traces should be wide enough (I guess?) that estlcam can cut around the outside of them…

which I suspect still has some element of operator error in there… 🙂

Attachments:
    Profile photo of Ryan
    Ryan
    Keymaster

We must be missing a step. I haven’t done a PCB’s But I was just recommended fritzing on this forum a few weeks ago so I know it works.

Looks like Mike is the man to ask, http://www.vicious1.com/forum/topic/pcb-isolation-milling/

Sorry I couldn’t help.

Profile photo of John
    John
    Participant

just figured it out… the lines in fritzing are traces for drawing and not paths for etching/milling.

so I step it through Inkscape to turn the drawing paths into an outline (which makes it a milling path)

like so: