Looking for advice with this file in Estlcam

New Home Forum Mostly Printed CNC – MPCNC Advice – MPCNC Looking for advice with this file in Estlcam

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Profile photo of Johnny Johnny 1 week, 6 days ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Peter A Mills
    Peter A Mills
    Participant

I was showing my friend some of the pieced I’ve cut and he asked if I could cut him a sign for the horse carriages he sells. It’s a pretty straightforward design so I told him I’d work on it. I’m still pretty new at all this so I’m looking for help.

Bennington-Carriages-BLACK-SOLID-large

I’ve figured out one way to carve the letters with a V bit and carve the curve with a 1/8 and 1/4 flat end mill then cut the whole piece out, but I was hoping someone could help me with a different way. I think I’d like to carve down the background so the letters, the curve and the small strip around are all uncut, and everything around is cut into the piece. I thought this would be pretty straightforward where I could create holes and parts then surround everything and make an island. I think that would work, but to do that and get the detail I need I think I’d need the 1/8″ bit. I can only go max 24″ square right now. Besides taking forever, I don’t currently have great 1/8 bits and they tend to break so I don’t know that it’s even possible.

Then I thought that I could use my 1/4″ mill to bulk cut the big open areas and then fill in with the 1/8 mill around the letters. It’s getting a bit too complicated for my novice skills. Am I on the right track or is there a better/easier/more efficient way? Is there a different bit that I’d need to do it a better way? Would I get a good finish using a (quality) 1/8″ bit?

Capture