My first MPCNC

Tagged: 

This topic contains 31 replies, has 7 voices, and was last updated by  Matthew Kress 2 weeks, 6 days ago.

Viewing 30 posts - 1 through 30 (of 32 total)
  • Author

Matthew Kress
    Participant

So I got my tortion box table done for my mpcnc. It is 4′ by 3′. I am going to build some drawers for the base later. It is made of cheap 3/4 particle board with the ribs 3″ thick all pocket screwed together. It is HEAVY. Using my starett straight edge in the center(24″) I can’t get my 1.5/1000″ feeler guage under it 🙂 Gonna get on putting it together now! Everythings already printed.

IMG_1260

IMG_1261

Ryan
    Keymaster

So much nicer than my tables…

Matthew Kress
    Participant

For those who have used wire loom for cable management I am using 24/4 wire for my extentions, should I get the 1/4 inch or 3/8? I saw it recommended on the forums here over a cable chain and I have never used the PET stuff before. I was looking at this https://www.amazon.com/Wang-Data-Black-Braided-Cable-Sleeve/dp/B01M3SG5P7 

Ryan
    Keymaster

I sell 3/8″ in the shop, It will expand up really far. As is I think it would fit 2 of those wires and not look like a Python that swallowed a small goat.

1 user thanked author for this post.

David Walling
    Participant

That looks really nice!

I built a torsion box for mine too. They definitely make the machines real heavy really fast. I’m hoping to get a stand built for mine this weekend. I was just leaving mine sit on an old table saw when I first set it up. I sold the table saw, so now it’s just sitting on some saw horses.

My wife is getting tired of helping me lift it, so I need to get it back on wheels 🙂

Matthew Kress
    Participant

Oh yeah, my top is about a sheet and a half of particle board. With the machine on top it would be a beast to move.

Barry
    Participant
    Oh yeah, my top is about a sheet and a half of particle board. With the machine on top it would be a beast to move.